Holiday books

A recap of my holiday books
Not only has this holiday been full of beautiful places (pics and posts coming soon) it’s also been a week for excellent books.

Here’s what I read:

The Cabin in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

I’ll be honest, for some reason I didn’t have very high hopes for this. Maybe I’d read a bad review for it somewhere, I don’t remember, but I thought it would be a fun thriller to kick off my holiday reading. In my mind, summer holidays = murder mysteries, and this was sure that. I didn’t see any of it coming, and all my guesses were wrong. The writing was a bit slow and I’ll probably do a full spoilery review soon, but definitely check it out! 
Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen is one of those writers I’ve grown up with. I started reading her books around the age of 13, and I still check out her new releases now. And as a teenage I absolutely adored each and every one of them. But now? I couldn’t tell you one from the other. They’re all very samey, there’s a formula of girl has problems, girl meets boy, girls problems somehow miraculously go away inadvertently cured by the boy. Everyone’s very white, middle class, straight, the same over and over again. But she still writes well. She writes good characters, that’s where her strengths lie. In characters you root for, and cute relationships, and strong family dynamics. Dessen also tackles hard issues, like loosing a loved one at a young age, being abandoned by a parent, or in her last book before this one, Saint Anything, a creepy guy worming his way into your family to prey on you. With that one, I had to keep putting the book down cause it made me skin crawl too much to read. But her plots and very predictable and similar, and I think it’s only because of that special nostalgic place in my heart where Sarah Dessen lives that I keep reading her stuff.
What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler 

I have so many feelings about this book. My first one is that everyone should go and read it. I mean it. This is the book about rape I wanted when I picked up asking for it. That seriously disappointed me, but this was everything I wanted. It dealt with it in a much more sensitive and powerful way, but I’ll go into that more in my full review.

So definitely go and check these out, but look out for my full reviews coming soon! 

Katie x

Leave a Reply

