Diverse Books….

Hey, guys!

I need a little help!

Lately, I’ve been thinking about the books that I read and how they fare in terms of diversity etc. So I’m currently analysing all the books I read last year, because I’ve only read 21 this year, and 80 off last year is a much bigger number. I might even go back to 2015 if I feel like it.

But I don’t quite know how to classify my books as ‘diverse’ or not. So far, I’ve thought about looking at gender of the main character, race, nationality, sexuality, and any disabilities. I then thought of extending this to look at the authors to get a better idea of whose books I’m reading.

But I want to know if there’s anything else that springs to mind when you think of diverse books, in terms of categories for diverseness (I know that’s a terrible phrase, but I can’t think of how else to word it!)

I’ve found this quote from the We Need Diverse Books website, which I think sums up most of what I was thinking:

‘We recognize all diverse experiences, including (but not limited to) LGBTQIA, Native, people of color, gender diversity, people with disabilities*, and ethnic, cultural, and religious minorities.’

Other than that, I want to know if there’s any way you record/rate/analyse your own reading in terms of diversity. I’ve just set up a google docs spreadsheet so I can mess around with the stats and whatnot, but I’m not really an excel whizz and would love to hear if you guys record this in any way, or know of any good ways to do so!

I’m going to come back with my findings once I correlate it all, and I also have a little mini kind of huge project up my sleeve so stay tuned for that too!

Katie

Leave a Reply

