Book Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

I don’t really know what to say after reading this. Other than, YOU HAVE TO GO AND READ IT.

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

THUG follows Starr, who by the age of sixteen has witnessed two of her best friends being shot, one of them by police. What follows is a roller coaster of emotions as she navigates the process of testifying against the police as they try and justify the actions of one of their own.

It’s a story that has graced our screens all too often recently, followed by protests, marches, and demonstrations that show just how unfair, unjust, and down right racist the law and the police can be. (Don’t come at me with your all lives matter bullshit either, this is not the place for it, and there is never a place for it. I know I don’t live in the US, I’m from the UK and our police is farrrr from perfect over here too. But you can’t deny that this isn’t a problem.)

This is such a relevant book to todays events in society, and it should be necessary reading for so many people. I know that I’m white, and my place in this discussion should be to lift those voices of experience and first hand knowledge louder, while showing my support but not taking the lime light, or the praise. And that’s what I’m trying to do.

This is a wonderful book and I’m so glad that I’ve seen so many people reading it, recommending it, and talking about it. The family dynamics were beautifully tender and realistic, the friendship issues were painful truths, but the main events of the story were heartrendingly familiar.

I can’t recommend this book enough. Go and read it!

5 stars on goodreads

Katie

Leave a Reply

