April book round-up and what I’ve read this month

I bought quite a few books this month. Want to see them?

ALL OF THESE!!


So pretty, aren’t they?

So, what’s in the pile?

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

Unfortunately they didn’t have the non-film version cover of the book in stock when I bought it, but I don’t really mind because it’s got badass ladies on the front. I haven’t seen the film yet, but want to read this first, then will probably buy the DVD when it comes out. Super excited to read about these awesome ladies!

Where am I Now? by Mara Wilson

I’d read a few excerpts of this online and I was just really interested in how her experiences in Hollywood changed as she grew up but how it had affected her now.

The Pearl Thief by Elizabeth Wein

This is prequel to Wein’s other novels Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire and follows the characters name through her childhood. Had my heart broken in the other two so I’m expecting the same for this one.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

You’ve probably heard about this book because it’s been talked about EVERYWHERE, but it follows Starr after one of her black friends gets shot by the police and the aftermath of that wrapped up in the Black Lives Matter movement.

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls


Again, I’d heard about this from quite a few Booktubers and it’s so pretty! There’s only a page on each famous woman to give you a little bit about their legacy but it’s enough to pique your interest and give you some amazing ladies to research further. It’s also illustrated by loads of different woman, and so has some amazing artwork.

Well Read Women by Samantha Hahn

Such a pretty book, with glorious drawings, this covers a number of female literary characters, and is just one quote alongside an illustration of them. So beautiful.

So, what did I read this month?

The Handmaid’s Tale by Maraget Atwood

I’m rereading this one in preparation for watching the new US show about it, but I’ve already read it twice before. The first time was for A-Level English Lit, and I adored it from the off. Such a powerful and scarily relevant book in this day and age, and I recommend everyone read it.

The Vintner’s Luck by Elizabeth Knox

I just felt a bit ‘meh’ about this book. I was confused a lot of the time by which child was which and what the name of the wife and the child was, and I know that’s probably down to me not paying attention properly, but I just didn’t find anything special about it. Especially not Sobran and Xas’ relationship. I’ll probably not bother reviewing it properly on here because I don’t know what I’d say. It was all just a bit nothing to me.

Doing It by Hannah Witton

YouTuber and internet sex advocate Hannah Witton has written a book, and it’s all about sex. Well, not all about, but mostly. It’s about crushes and consent, sex and STI’s, sexuality and body confidence, and it’s just a really good resource for anybody really, as it covers such a wide range of issues and topics.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

I’ve only just started it, and am only around 70 pages in but already it’s covering a lot of things that I, as a white person, have never had to think about or consider about how I go about my everyday life. I know it’s going to be a favourite, and hopefully everyone gives it a read and learns some to help propel the BLM movement.

Days of Blood and Starlight by Liani Taylor

The second in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, this book picks up where the first left off, following Akiva and Karou as they each fight for their side of the war. I adored the first one (but still haven’t reviewed it properly?? Maybe I’ll just do all three together…) but am loving this one too so far.

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray

Again, I LOVED the first book, and while I still really enjoyed this one… No. I won’t say anything. Expect a full review soon.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I read this about 4 years ago now? But I gave it a reread it when the show came out to refresh my memory before I binged it on Netflix. 19 year old me was very helpful in reminding me what I thought about this book – or not, as I only rated it 4 stars and that was that. This time, I only rated it 3 stars, but I think I’m going to watch the show and then put all my thoughts about the book and the adaptation together.

What did you all read this month? Any favourites? Let me know!

Katie

Leave a Reply

