(10/3/2017) I ordered a Mooncup!

My little environmental project for April is to work towards having a more sustainable period, and so in preparation for that, I have bought a menstrual cup. I haven’t tried it yet, but I will try it out and practice with it before my period comes so I’m better at putting it in and taking it out, because I’ve heard that bit needs the practice.

So, what is a menstrual cup?

It’s basically what it says on the tin – it’s a little cup that you insert into your vagina when menstruating, and it collects the blood inside. Cute, isn’t it?

I have bought the Mooncup version, available here, but there are other brands available to try out, including the Diva cup etc

I have no strong reason for picking the Mooncup over the others. I’ve heard of this brand, and the Diva cup the most, from other bloggers or people on social media, but I think it may have been slightly cheaper and had free delivery.

I ordered it late at night on the 7th March, and it had been delivered when I got home from work on the 9th. Excellent delivery time.

So why get a menstrual cup?

So. Many. Reasons!!!

Firstly, it’s cheaper. In the long run, I mean. Mine was £20, but for that one off payment I have this product which will last me years. The pamphlet that comes with the mooncup states on average, one woman will use at least 11000 tampons or pads in a lifetime. So, add that up, and it’s going to be a looooot of money. This is a one off payment, that will keep you going for a long time. Definitely worth it.

Secondly, think of the environment! 11000 tampons or pads that are all going to landfill – what a disastrous effect on the planet. This cup eliminates all that waste. Just rinse it in between  uses when on your period, then between periods, give it a proper wash. Simple.

It’s also much safer. Presumably more comfortable than wearing a pad, but without putting something in your vagina that can dry you out, or can lead to infection, medically speaking it’s a much safer option.

Now, I’m not thinking this is going to be easy. I don’t like tampons on the best of days, and I can’t imagine the first few times of using it won’t be without mess, but once you get over that initial hurdle, I can already tell this is going to a firm favourite of mine, and something I will recommend to all my friends.

Also, the company is ran by a swarm of women who try their best to be as ethical and environmentally friendly as possible. The website also gives a list of the charities and causes they’ve supported, which is nice to see.

Overall, I’m super excited to try this out! I’ll be updating as I practice with it, and when I use it for real, too.

Katie

 

Leave a Reply

