(7/3/2017) International Women’s Day

Tomorrow is International Women’s Day, and I wanted to do something to mark it on this blog, but then it came around very quickly and suddenly I hadn’t done anything. But I do want to mention it.

I had no idea IWD was coming up, until about a week ago, when someone at work mentioned it. Long story short, some of the women at work were talking about it, and shared some stuff on Facebook, and some of the men at work had a very disappointing, yet not too surprising response of ‘why do women get a day? Wheres International Men’s Day?’

Sigh.

Queue a lot of bitching and tetchy comments while also trying to give educated responses.

But I think International Women’s Day, and all that it promotes is highly important in my place of work. Because I work in a laboratory. And STEM subjects and careers are often rarely sought after by girls in school, that they don’t pursue those paths in life. And I adore how films like Hidden Figures are going to be encouraging young girls to get involved in maths and science.

At my work, the big top jobs, i.e. departmental managers and section leads, have always been help by men. Recently, that has started to change, and there’s now many more women in leadership roles within the department. And I’m proud to say that. Obviously though, there’s a still a long way to go, especially in diversifying the women in those roles. And of the department, too, to be honest.

So I want to do some research into actual numbers, so I’m more aware of the ins and outs of the industry I’m working in, so I can pull out receipts when guys start being dicks, and to find out what I can do to help.

I always want to do a little series, or a big series, who knows, about great women role models and women who have left a big impression on history or society in some way or another. So if you have any particular favourites, send them my way!

Katie

Leave a Reply

