(24/2/2017) Book Review: Playing Dead by Julie Heaberlin

‘Dear Tommie . . . I’ve spent most of my life searching for you. I believe you are my daughter.’

Just after her father’s death, Tommie receives a letter from a stranger. The woman claims that Tommie is her biological daughter, kidnapped as a baby over thirty years ago.

Then she is approached by a journalist who claims to know about her past. But can she trust him?

Unsure what to believe, Tommie sets out to discover the truth about her identity. As explosive secrets emerge, she realises it’s not just her life that’s in danger . . .

I have very mixed feelings about this book, but I have literally just finished it and thought I’d write this straight away so I don’t forget anything.

For most of this book, I was fairly confused. There was so many characters, and so many different story lines, and details, and questions about different things, that for a lot of the time I felt like my attention was being dragged in too many directions.

There was so many times I felt that I was going to turn the last page of this book (metaphorically, for I was reading on a kindle) and still have unanswered questions. Whenever Tommie had the chance to ask questions, to get answers, she always seemed to be asking the wrong questions – in my opinion anyway. Was that really the most important thing you could be asking right now? You’re time is limited, and this is what you’re focusing on?

And everything seemed too easy. Her father had this contact at this newspaper, and he had these hacker friends, and her ex-boyfriend, who is suddenly, conveniently back on the scene, knows all these people who can get them access to all these kinds of places. Do Sheriffs really just take anybody to old crime scenes, find out their not really reporters and still give them all the details about it? Is there no confidentiality?

That being said, I was suitably satisfied with how the novel ended, and all the loose ends were tied up. Everything made sense, everything was connected and tied in with everything else, and I thought it came together nicely. None of the outcomes were things that I’d expected to happen, and so I wasn’t disappointed by the predictability of the plot.

This is the second book I’ve read by Heaberlin, the first being Black-Eyed Susans, and I think I will definitely checking out some more of hers.

Katie

One thought on “(24/2/2017) Book Review: Playing Dead by Julie Heaberlin

  1. Great review! This book sounds really interesting! Mystery books have always kind of been my thing, even though I don’t read them very often.

    I also write book reviews, but mainly over nonfiction. I really like nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

