(22/2/2017) Any Swiss Tips?

Hello!

I am planning a trip to Switzerland in June, and I need some help!

So far, my plans consist of flying to Geneva, then travelling by train to Lausanne, Bern, Lucerne, then Zurich and flying home from there. This is just a rough plan, but it’s the basis of what I think is pretty realistic.

Basically, I would hugely appreciate:

-any recommendations of places to eat

-places to go, things to see and do in the above mentioned places

-anywhere outside of the above mentioned places that you think are must-see places

-tips on travelling by train

-tips for Switzerland in general

-hotel/hostel recommendations

I would love input from anyone who lives/lived there, or who has just travelled there and has some gems of wisdom to pass on. I’m looking to keep it as cheap as possible, but I know it can be quite expensive in Switzerland, so I am realistic that it won’t be as cheap as any other places.

Any tips or advice or anything – I’d be so grateful! Please send anything and everything my way!

Katie

 

3 thoughts on “(22/2/2017) Any Swiss Tips?

  1. Hi Katie! I think you have a good rough plan on what areas of Switzerland to visit. 🙂 How long will be your trip? Apart from exploring the mentioned cities, I would definitely suggest going up to the mountains and dip in one of the Swiss lakes (if the weather will permit). June is usually warm enough, but you never know. 🙂
    For transport, I suggest you take a look at the webpage of Swiss Railways and calculate which of the passes available would best suit your travel plan: http://www.sbb.ch/en/leisure-holidays/holidays–short-breaks-in-switzerland/swisstravelsystem.html
    The food in the restaurants is in Switzerland very expensive, so if you’re traveling on the tight budget, I would suggest you to consider self-catering accommodation. You could save some money by preparing some of the meals by yourself. When I was
    I wrote a lot about my trips around Switzerland on my blog. You might some ideas what to do and see there. For instance, I wrote my suggestions on what to do in Lucerne here:
    https://sloveniangirlabroad.wordpress.com/2015/03/08/10-things-to-do-in-luzern/.
    If you have any other question don’t hesitate to contact me. I will be happy to help you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

