(18/2/2017) Don’t let other peoples life events dictate your milestones.

This weekend, some of my closest friends moved in together. They’ve been in a relationship for about 6 and half years now, and have moved in together.

And it’s when things like this happen, I’m always like ‘what?? but that’s such an adult thing to do. I’m their age too, and I’m nowhere near being as adulty as that.’

And in this situation, I know that a lot of people my age move out, not just with friends, but with partners too. People my age have children, are engaged, or even married. It’s not that strange.

But for me, I think, well, I’m not even close to that. I won’t be at that stage in my own life for years yet. And yet, people my age are already there?

BUT IT DOESN’T MATTER.

How other people live their lives, the rate at which they do things in their own lives has no reflection on how anyone else should do it.

Everybody thinks that there’s this unwritten age at which you have to have your first kiss, have sex, move out, have a ‘proper job’, get married, have kids, blah blah blah. All these expectations and deadlines and they don’t matter.

Live your life how you want. Kiss who you want, when you want. Stay at home for as long as you need. Get married if and when you want. Let other people do theirs, and you do you.

It doesn’t matter.

Katie

Leave a Reply

