(5/2/2017) Book Review: I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith(Alternatively: Being more frugal with my 4 star reviews)

First off, I gave this book a 3 star review on Goodreads. I didn’t hate it, but…

For me, 5 star reviews are pretty rare. I have to absolutely LOVE a book. Some of my 5 star reviews have gone to The Night Circus (Erin Morgenstern), A Monster Calls (Patrick Ness), Gone Girl, and Sharp objects (Gillian Flynn), and The Book Thief (Markus Zusak) to name just a few.

But to most other books I read, I just end up slapping a 4 star rating on them. To me, this is ‘yeah, I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t BRILLIANT.’ And I think I’ve been too generous with my four star ratings.

So, I only gave I Capture the Castle a 3.

And that’s not because I didn’t like it. I just didn’t like like it. I don’t really know, I’m trying to work out better boundaries between ratings in my head.

I Capture the Castle follows 17 year old Cassandra as she details her family’s life living in a castle, and the financial hardships they’re going through as her father will no longer write after his only book brought global success. Some new owners of the castle enter their lives and as Cassandra tries to decide which of the two eligible bachelors she is in love with (or is it none of them?) her sister, Rose, also struggles between marrying for love or money.

It was a nice read. It was a bit too long for what it needed to be, too waffly in places, a bit too focused on how women should behave around men to make them fall in love with them but then I suppose that’s realistic of that fact it’s set in the 1930’s. I didn’t feel much for any of the character’s, except maybe poor Stephen who did get the bad end of many sticks and was well and truly messed around.

I wouldn’t hugely recommend it. It felt like one of those books that was a bit about nothing, but not bad enough to put down before I finished. I truly don’t understand all the five star ratings and rave reviews over it, but each to their own I guess.

Katie

One thought on “(5/2/2017) Book Review: I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith(Alternatively: Being more frugal with my 4 star reviews)

Leave a Reply

