(4/2/2017) Plans for a more sustainable life

 

I’ve said before that I want to work on one aspect of my life every month to try and be more environmentally friendly and ethically conscious. Last month I looked into using only cruelty free make up, and in February, I want to move on to using more reusable items, instead of one use disposable ones.

What do I mean by this?

I’ve already bought a reusable water bottle instead of using plastic ones everyday (even though I did recycle them, it’s better to reduce first, then recycle.)

I also use disposable straws every morning, as I have some signs of acid erosion on my teeth but love orange juice with my breakfast, so I’m using a straw to reduce the effect on my teeth. But even just one straw every day add to the amount of plastic in our environment when it needed. I’m going to buy reusable straws.

Also, cotton buds and cotton wool pads. I know you can get some fabric alternatives to cotton wool pads for skin care and what not, but I haven’t found anything for cotton buds yet. I mainly use them for touching up makeup, so I’m sure I could use a corner of a cloth or something. I need to look into this a bit more though.

Carrier bags. I’m pretty good at this actually. I rarely buy a new carrier when I go shopping, and always take old ones or just use my bag. If I do need to buy one, I always keep it to reuse or make sure I buy a bag for life or sturdier one for reuse.

I’m pretty sure I had some other ideas about this, but I can’t recall what they were at the minute. I will do a recap at the end of the month though, to let you all know how successful I was! Oh – disposable razors! Stop using those too.

(I also know that typical menstrual products are really bad for the environment, but I’m going to dedicate a whole other month to having a more sustainable period.)

And, if anyone knows of any items or products we all use which are bad for the environment and there are great, reusable alternatives on the market some where, please let me know!

Katie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

