(29/1/2017) Fine line between self care and doing your bit

Two posts in one day, as such matters call for it.

It’s so easy to scroll past the serious, political posts on your news feed or dashboard, and ignore them because it’s not happening to you.

It’s also sometimes easier to scroll past them because there’s been too many times already this year, when things just seem to keep going from bad to worse, and you feel there’s nothing you can do about it. It gets overwhelming, you feel helpless, it’s easier to look away.

And it’s totally okay to step away from the internet and do some self care if you’re worried about the state of the world, your country, family or friends, or even complete strangers affected by whats going on in the news.

But it’s also important to do what you can. Use what privilege you have, whether its a position of power that you’re in, or a protest you’re able to go to, some money you’re able to donate, or a platform from which you can spread the news and ways to help.

I know that I, a white female born and raised in the UK, I am never going to face even a fraction of the hardships that thousands of people are facing this weekend alone, never mind what might happen throughout the full length of Trump’s presidency. Yes, some of his policies are affecting women, but I’m still far luckier and in a much more stable position than many others who he and his team are targeting with their policies.

So, what can we do?

Well that’s where I feel just as lost as others.

There is a petition going round, shared by Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn, against the visit of Donald Trump on a state visit to the UK. I don’t know if it’s just UK citizens that can sign that or not, but if you can, it’s one way to let the Government know that you don’t support the visit. Whether it will go anywhere, I don’t know, but it’s already past the point at which Parliament have to at least acknowledge it (I think?).

There’s also Writetothem.com which gives you the name and ability to write to your local MP. This is not something I would normally do. I’m not for having a stance, obviously I have my opinions but I rarely go out of my way to speak them. But no more. I won’t stand silent while these injustices carry on.

This twitter thread also has a list of resources aimed more at helping refugees. This is a good one too.

Other than that, there’s what you can do in your own community and group of friends. If anybody says anything Islamophobic, if you see anyone harassing someone else in the street or on the bus, speak up. Don’t let racists get away with their actions, or let them believe that this kind of behaviour is okay.

I know that there are far more ways in which you can the situation some, some which may be more effective or helpful than these, but it’s important to do what you can and encourage others to do what they can too.

If you’ve got any other resources, please let me know of them!

Katie

 

Leave a Reply

