(17/1/17)Book Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I honestly don’t know how I’m going to describe how much I love this book. I feel like the English language does not have the appropriate terms to allow me to explain all the things it made me feel.

But I shall try.

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

This was my second time reading The Night Circus, and I’d been wanting to reread it for quite some time now. I like to leave enough of a gap between readings of books, just to let it properly soak into your mind but also to forget the story somewhat, so reading it is not predictable and boring. But, also, I was hesitant in case this second perusal didn’t live up to the first, in case I floated through the story with a different perspective and it fell short of all the expectations I had of it.

It is safe to say it did not disappoint. In fact, I believe I’m even more in love with this book than before, if that’s even possible.

The story follows Celia and Marco, and, of course, Le Cirque des Rêves as it criss-crosses Europe and North America around the turn of the 20th century. The book seamlessly flits back and forward through time, stopping and starting and picking up again as if there were no flitting about at all. The writing is so beautifully poetic that you fall right into the circus itself, experiencing everything from the sights and sounds, down to the smells and tastes as if you were actually standing there in the cold with a caramel apple.

Each character is detailed so in depth, each following their own arc of character growth and development, while each of their storylines mingle and intertwine with the rest of the characters flawlessly.

I honestly cannot say enough to recommend this book. There is just this feel to it that encapsulates your entire mind, body, and soul when reading it, or at least it did for me. I dragged out the reading of this book for as long as possible because I didn’t want it to end, while simultaneously devouring as much of its character and content as possible in a single sitting. I was immensely disappointed when I finished it, but at the same time felt profoundly grateful to have found this book.

There are some books you read that make you want to write something of your own. That can be for the fact that the book is so horrible that you want to prove that you can do better (see my review on Carry On for my own feelings about this), or because you want to make someone feel the same way you did after finishing your favourite book. This latter reason is true for me. I will treasure this book, the plot, and the characters for years to come, and I can see it in the stars as clearly as Poppet sees the future about the circus, that there will be many more rereads to come.

Katie

 

One thought on “(17/1/17)Book Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Leave a Reply

