(02/01/2017) About Me

I thought that since I’m redoing my whole blog, I would add in a bit more information about myself.

One thing I would like to say is that I won’t be posting any selfies/pictures of myself. I know a lot of blogs do, and it makes them more personal and in touch with their readers. But I want to stay anonymous.

The point of this blog, for me at least, is to talk about some very personal things, such as my sexuality, mental health issues, and the loss of family members. These are things that I want to write about openly, honestly, and from the heart, and I feel I won’t be able to speak as frankly if I think that people I know may read it. I would one day like to care less what people think, and be able to speak as candidly as I want, but my anxiety and depression has affected how I feel or act around friends and work colleagues, and not in the nicest or most positive of ways, so I’d rather not have my face put to those words right now. Maybe one day.

But here’s some other things to know about me.

Favourite TV: LOST, How to Get Away With Murder, Orphan Black, Brooklyn 99

Favourite Books: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, The Raven Cycle by Maggie Steifvater, The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Attwood. On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein, Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman, The Firebird Series by Claudia Gray, Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo, Fingersmith by Sarah Waters.

Favourite Music: Halsey, Arctic Monkeys, Taylor Swift, Lifehouse, Something Corporate, Leighton Meester, Broods, A Fine Frenzy, The Fray

Favourite Films: The Lion King, Juno, Now You See Me.

Favourite Places I’ve Traveled: Colorada, USA. Sydney, Australia, New York, USA. Venice and Sorrento, Italy.

Places that are Top of My To Travel To List: Dubrovnik, Croatia. Barcelona, Spain. Iceland. Scandinavia. West Coast of USA. New England, USA. Hawaii, USA. Fiji. New Zealand. Amsterdam.

Hobbies: Reading, writing, TV, learning new stuff, baking, dog walks, traveling, drawing, eating too much chocolate, drinking too many cocktails, buying too many clothes and having nowhere to put them, buying too many books and having nowhere to put them, planning extravagant travel adventures I don’t have the money to go on.

Pets: A naughty little cat and an adorable slightly less little pupper. Both rescues, in a way.

Living situation: With aforementioned pets and my mam, I still live at home. My brother has moved out but visits home occasionally. My dad died when I was younger. It’s highly likely my grandparents will have to move in with us soon due to ill health and dementia. I think the pets will find that hardest to adjust to.

Occupation I always wanted as a kid: I literally wanted to be everything. I had this dream schedule set out that spanned about 2 weeks and I was a doctor one day, and teacher the next, author the next, vet, illustrator, singer, each for just one day a fortnight then it would start all over again.

Dream occupation now: I’d love to be an author. I’d love to sit at home in my pjs all day and just write. But that’s a very rare outcome. I would love a job where I could work from home, but then I fear I’d isolate myself too much and not socialise at all. Currently I work in a hospital laboratory, and I enjoy it, but I don’t quite think I’ve found my passion yet. Maybe I could team being an author with running a dog sanctuary and the dogs could be my friends…

Mental health status: I feel this is maybe a little relevant to include, as I can guarantee I’ll be talking about it a lot on here. I’m currently on antidepressants and have been for around 7/8 months now, for mild depression and anxiety and am feeling much more revived and like my old self again, but still have strong bouts of anxiety, especially with regard to social situations. My depression is definitely seasonal, and as soon as the clocks went back in autumn I saw an immediate change in my mood and overall attitude to life since not getting enough sunlight. Going to work when it’s dark and leaving work when it’s dark, and working in a lab with no windows is the worst thing about my life right now, and my job, but I’m getting it through it much better than I was this time last year.

Katie

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s